Presidential Announcement

On September 28, the Vermont State Colleges System (VSCS) Board of Trustees unanimously approved the appointment of Dr. Karen Scolforo to be the next President of Castleton University at their annual retreat in Fairlee, Vermont. 

More information, including Dr. Scolforo's CV, a headshot, and the full press release announcing her appointment are available for download below. 

Castleton University President Dave Wolk announced at a campus assembly Wednesday, March 8, 2017, that he will step down in December after serving for 16 years as president. Wolk came to the presidency in December of 2001 after intertwined careers in education and government, and 2017 marks his 43rd year in public service. Wolk is the longest-serving president in Castleton history by more than four years.

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees led a successful search for his successor, through a search committee comprised of trustees and members of the Castleton community, having open lines of communication directly with search committee members, the Chancellor, the Board, and the Castleton community, and many opportunities throughout the search process for participation. You can read more about the search process below.


Castleton Presidential Search Committee
Search Committee Chair Tim Jerman Andre Fleche Scott Dikeman
J. Churchill Hindes ("Church") Kim Carey Mariah O'Hara
Martha O'Connor Billie Langlois Cecelia (Ceil) Hunt
Aly Richards Gayle Malinowski Jeb Spaulding
Helen Mango    

More information about the members of the search committee is available.