Expectations

Members of the Student Orientation Staff are selected in March and get right to work serving our community. Their service continues through the summer and the fall semester.

Spring 2019

  1. Participate in Spring Training (April 26 and May 3).
  2. Meet with FYS instructor-partner.

Summer 2019

  1. Complete on-line training modules.
  2. Keep in touch with SOS Coordinator.
  3. Contact FYS faculty between Commencement and first (June) Registration session.
  4. Participate in Transfer registration, if available and needed (Thursday, June 6).
  5. Participate in SOS training (Thursday, June 13).
  6. Participate in First-Year registration (Friday, June 14 and Saturday, June 15).
  7. Contact FYS faculty between June Registration session and July Registration session.
  8. Participate in SOS training (Thursday, July 11).
  9. Participate in First-Year registration (Friday, July 12 and Saturday, July 13).
  10. Participate in Transfer registration, if available and needed (Thursday, July 18).
  11. Contact FYS faculty between July Registration session and Orientation.
  12. Participate in SOS training (Sunday, August 19 through Thursday, August 22).
  13. Participate in Orientation (Friday, August 23 through Saturday, August 24).

Fall 2019

  1. Register for, and attend class meetings of, INT 4740.
  2. Attend Convocation (TBA).
  3. Attend all Common Hours.
  4. Present a minimum of two (2) Common Hours.
  5. Arrange out-of-class opportunity for FYS students (e.g., attendance at Soundings event, volunteer activity, etc.).
  6. Volunteer for Admissions events (Accepted Student Days, Open House, etc.)