Effective May 5, 2014 the State of Vermont enacted into law 23 V.S.A. § 1110. Prohibited Idling of Motor Vehicles, Act 57 (Section 28, pages 30-32). This law limits the idling of all motor vehicles while parked to five minutes in any 60 minute period, with some exception. Castleton University is dedicated to promoting this law and its implications for clean air and a sustainable environment. Below is the University’s policy regarding idling of any car on campus and any University vehicle, regardless of location.
This policy applies to the operation of any vehicle on the Castleton University property. Additionally, this policy applies to any University owned vehicle, whether it is present on campus or elsewhere.
Exhaust from idling vehicles can accumulate and pose a health risk to employees, drivers, and the community at large including:
Idling vehicles also waste fuel and financial resources:
Idling cars contributes to global warming and the carbon footprint of Castleton University:
Idling is bad for public health, the environment, and bad for the bottom line.
To minimize idling time in all aspects of facility vehicle operation.
In general, idling time is limited to a maximum of three (3) minutes.
Motor vehicle regulation is essential for the safety of all members of the University community, visitors, and friends. The parking lots and roadways located on Castleton University are the property of the University. They are Public Roadways as defined by Vermont State Law. Castleton University reserves the right to make traffic regulations, post traffic signs, restrict the use of the roadways and lots, and collect fees for violations of these regulations. These regulations have been developed to provide the maximum benefit for all concerned. Those persons operating a motor vehicle on the Castleton campus are expected to comply with the spirit as well as the letter of these regulations and are reminded that use of the parking facilities is a privilege and not a right. A parking permit does not ensure the availability of a parking space, but it grants the privilege of parking in specified areas when available. Abuse of this privilege can result in not being allowed to use Castleton’s lots and roadways. Parking permits are issued at no charge from the University Public Safety Department. Student permits must be renewed yearly prior to or during the first week of the academic calendar.
The speed limit on campus is 15 miles per hour on all campus roadways and 10 miles per hour in all campus parking lots. Violations will result in a minimum fine of $40 for each offense and careless driving may result in disciplinary action. Operating motor vehicles on campus walks, lawns, or areas not specifically designed as roadways is prohibited and subject to a fine and all repair or replacement costs. Operators of motor vehicles must comply with all traffic signs (yield, stop, do not enter, etc.) or the direction of a Public Safety Officer. Failure to stop on approach of an emergency vehicle, or Public Safety vehicle displaying amber lights, will be subject to a fine.
Persons who own, possess, or operate a motor vehicle on the Castleton campus are responsible for knowing the regulations. Ignorance does not constitute a valid defense for failure to observe them or absolve violators from any penalties. Castleton University does not assume any responsibility for damage to, theft from, or theft of any motor vehicle parked on the University property. Vehicles which are brought to campus by guests must receive a visitor’s permit at the Public Safety Office.
Voice and email distribution lists, voicemail, or other appropriate means will be used to inform students, faculty and staff of procedures to follow in a snow emergency. Failure to follow these procedures will result in towing.
The University provides an electronic bulletin board for students to dial in and check on class or school cancellations. In the event of a snow storm or other weather emergency, please check this board by calling (802) 468-6043.
Individuals are responsible for any citation issued to a vehicle which they own or operate. Traffic citations may either be presented to the owner/operator, placed on the windshield of the vehicle, or, in special circumstances, mailed to the registrant. Persons who repeatedly violate the University's parking regulations, or fail to pay their fines may forfeit their use of campus parking facilities at the discretion of the Department of Public Safety.
Appeals must be made in person at the Public Safety office within the 10 day period between 7 am and 2 pm on Tuesdays or Wednesdays or by appointment with the Director of Public Safety. Appeals received from faculty, staff, and students within the ten day period will be reviewed by the Director of Public Safety and may be sent to the Student Court, which will review the appeal and render a decision in writing to the individual who submitted the appeal. Appeals will be handled as swiftly as possible. Referrals to the Student Court are made at the discretion of the Director of Public Safety.
Parking area designations are available in the Public Safety office. Parking is permitted for vehicles registered with Public Safety in all campus parking areas as designated by signage.
Definition: Any vehicle in violation of stated Motor Vehicle Parking Regulations, or found to be parked outside painted parking spaces. It is the operator’s responsibility to ensure that they are parked legally and properly. Following suit, because someone else is parked improperly or delineating lines being snow covered does not absolve violators from any penalties.
Parking permits are required on the vehicles of all faculty, staff, and students. This includes part time faculty members as well as those students registered in the day or evening division, residents as well as commuters. Faculty, staff, and student permits are available through the Department of Public Safety. All faculty, staff and student parking in the University parking areas without a permit or in violation will be subject to a fine and may be subject to towing.
When a motor vehicle is sold or transferred to a new owner or user, the parking permit(s) must be removed. The permit, or parts thereof, may be returned to the Department of Public Safety Traffic Division, where a new corresponding sticker or permit will be issued free of charge upon completion of an application. Requests for more than one replacement per year will be reviewed by the Director of Public Safety. An individual must notify the Department of Public Safety immediately of any change in their license plate number, the vehicle registered, or their address. There is no fee for permits, but yearly renewal is required.
Students will have only one vehicle on campus at a time unless approved by the Director of Public Safety.
Students: $79 per permit fee. (Gryphon and Foley Hall students parking fee is included in the Rutland parking fee)
Faculty/Staff: fee included as part of employment
SHAPE Members: fee included with SHAPE membership
All vehicles parked in a handicapped parking spot shall display an appropriate plate issued from a state or federal authority. Failure to display this may result in a ticket and/or tow. Handicapped parking spaces are located in close proximity to entrances to University buildings, which are accessible to the handicapped with a permanent plate. Handicap parking spaces are federally mandated and are enforced and controlled by State and local authorities as well as the Department of Public Safety. All improperly parked vehicles will be ticketed and/or towed by either enforcement agency. At the discretion of the Director of Public Safety, temporary handicapped parking permits may be issued to those who are injured or otherwise temporarily disabled and have a note from their physician. Temporary permits must be renewed every month but may also be issued for shorter durations.